About the Court

The Stow Municipal Court has jurisdiction over misdemeanor and traffic offenses committed within its geographical boundaries and civil cases in which the amount in controversy does not exceed $15,000. The Court handles about 20,000 cases per year.

Court Entrance 2The Court serves sixteen communities in northern Summit County including Boston Heights, Boston Township, Cuyahoga Falls, Hudson, Macedonia, Munroe Falls, Northfield, Northfield Center Township, Peninsula, Reminderville, Sagamore Hills, Silver Lake, Stow, Tallmadge, Twinsburg and Twinsburg Township.

In 2009, the new courthouse was opened at State Route 8 and Steels Corners Road. The central location gives citizens throughout the district easy access to the Court. The building is paid for using court fees, not taxpayer dollars.

Hours

Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM

2021 Holiday Schedule

Friday January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day
Monday January 18, 2021 Martin Luther King Day
Monday February 15, 2021 Presidents’ Day
Monday May 31, 2021 Memorial Day
Monday July 5, 2021 Independence Day
Monday September 6, 2021 Labor Day
Thursday November 11, 2021 Veterans Day
Thursday November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving
Friday November 26, 2021 Thanksgiving
Thursday December 23, 2021 Christmas Eve
Friday December 24, 2021 Christmas Day
Thursday December 30, 2021 New Year’s Eve
Friday December 31, 2021 New Year’s Day

Field Trips

The Court is pleased to provide school children from all over the jurisdiction with a chance to visit and participate in court activities. Please contact the Court Administrator for more information at 330-564-4174.

Problems

All Court personnel are available to answer your questions regarding court procedure, however Judges and Magistrates are prohibited from discussing your case with you outside of the courtroom and court personnel cannot give legal advice.

If you should have questions regarding procedure, please call the Bailiff of the Judge/Magistrate you last appeared before or to whom your case is assigned. If you have problems reaching the Bailiff, contact the Court Administrator at 330-564-4174.